In 1875, approximately 25 years after arriving in Germantown, the Vincentian Priests of the Eastern Province (Congregation of the Mission) developed plans for the Congregation’s private chapel, which they named the Chapel of the Immaculate Conception. When Bishop James Wood (then-bishop of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia) heard about these plans, he asked them to build a public chapel instead. With humility and obedience, the Vincentians agreed; they enlarged the building to serve Catholics in the surrounding neighborhood.
Almost 40 years later in 1915, Fr. Joseph Skelly, CM, was asked to raise funds for the construction of a Minor Seminary in Princeton, New Jersey. Before he mailed the appeal letters, he placed a small Miraculous Medal in each envelope. The response from this mailing was overwhelming.
Fueled by Fr. Skelly’s tireless efforts to honor Our Blessed Mother, local and national devotion to the Miraculous Medal skyrocketed by 1927. In response, Fr. Skelly commissioned the building of a shrine to Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal in the Chapel of the Immaculate Conception. Thus, The Miraculous Medal Shrine was established.
Today, thousands of Marian devotees from around the world journey to the Shrine every year not only for its tranquility but for its beauty. The Romanesque-style church that houses the Shrine is an inspiring sight, complete with Marian artwork, sculptures, stained glass, and stunning altars.
Throughout the Shrine, pilgrims enjoy the “silence of the heart” in private and communal prayers. There is also a vibrant sacramental life, with daily Mass, the sacrament of reconciliation, Eucharistic Adoration, weekly novenas, and many special liturgical events. SHRINE SCHEDULE
Open seven days a week, the Shrine is a public sanctuary. In the spirit of hospitality, all are welcome to enjoy the grace and beauty of Our Lady’s shrine.